Doctor Drama

201494_178348612217230_5730271_o

Once upon a time, when Sanne still was a tiny Sanne, I was ill for a while. It’s been so long, I don’t remember what disease I suffered from. Or that is because I always thought the external to be a side-issue and I never clear brainspace for that, because what I do remember all too clearly is how I thought in that time. My disease was being combatted with splashing buttock injections from uncle doctor, which I always endured silently, because I knew what was good for me. Plus, after that I always got to add an item to my ever expanding Duplo-collection.

201410_178348892217202_6828184_o

One day, I lay on my regular spot on the chilly doctors table once again with my pants on my ankles, ready for my medicative, hallucination encouraging syringe and for a moment I thought the situation over, putting everything that was actually going on into perspective. I remember so clearly that in a fraction of a second I thought: ‘I always just undergo this, because I know I need these medications, but a normal child my age would revolt, scream, beat and kick it’s arms and legs; all in vain to just try to get out of this thing. Not a really smart thing to do, given it will only take longer and I know they will just hold me down anyway. Not that they do it because of this reason, but perhaps it will relieve me and feel glorious just doing it. And seeing that adults see me as a little child, don’t know the way I think and wouldn’t take me serious anyway, it would maybe surprise them momentarily, but not astonish them if I were to behave like this.

215720_178349152217176_1703639_n206314_178348988883859_7345278_n

Maybe it’s just a bit of a weird moment to start doing it, given I’ve been quietly waiting for a while for the doctor to prepare his syringe, but as for the rest.. Really, nothing is in my way to go on a considerable razzle to experience what it’s like to behave like a little child and to find out what happens to me physically and mentally when I take advantage of my age for a change.’ And so it occured.

When sir doctor made way in the direction of my buttocks with a syringe in his hand, ready to attack, I started to squeal out a mush wherein occasionally one could hear the words ‘no, no’, with my legs kicking towards the white coat and my arms waving through the air awkwardly. It was all quite the challenge, given that I was laying on my belly and this way I was like a kicking tortoise with a too big of a shell.

I rang my mother, because for the overall picture I would like to know at what age I thought like this. I was three.

216961_178348785550546_267449_n216579_178348678883890_8025554_n

Art by Sanne van Renesse

~ [NL] ~

Heel vroeger, toen Sanne nog een Sannetje was, was ik een tijd ziek. Het is zo lang geleden dat ik niet meer weet welke ziekte ik had, of dat komt omdat ik het uiterlijke altijd slechts bijzaak heb gevonden en daar geen hersenruimte voor vrijmaak, want wat ik mij nog wel erg goed herinner is hoe ik in die tijd dacht. Mijn ziekte werd bestreden door middel van spetterende bilinjecties van ome dokter, die ik altijd stilletjes onderging, omdat ik wist wat goed voor me was. En ik mocht daarna altijd een item aan mijn immer uitdijende Duplo-collectie toevoegen.

Op een dag lag ik weer op mijn vaste plek op de kille dokterstafel met mijn broek op half vier, klaar voor mijn geneeskrachtige, hallucinatieopwekkende spuit en ik dacht even na over de situatie, relativeerde even alles wat er eigenlijk aan de hand was. Ik weet nog zo goed wat ik binnen een mum van een seconde dacht: ‘Ik onderga dit altijd maar omdat ik weet dat ik die medicijnen nodig heb, maar een normaal kind van mijn leeftijd zou in opstand komen, krijsen, met zijn armen en benen slaan en trappen; alles om maar tevergeefs onder dat ding uit te proberen te komen. Niet echt slim dat ze dat doen, want het duurt alleen maar langer en ik weet dat je dan toch vastgehouden wordt. Niet dat zij het om die reden doen, maar misschien zou het mij wel opluchten en voelt het heerlijk om te doen. En aangezien de volwassenen mij toch al zien als klein kind en mijn gedachten niet kennen of serieus zouden nemen, zou het ze misschien even verassen, maar niet verbazen als ik me zo zou gedragen.

Misschien is het alleen een beetje een raar moment om ermee te beginnen zo nadat ik al een tijdje rustig lig te wachten tot de dokter de spuit heeft geprepareerd, maar verder.. Eigenlijk staat me dus niets in de weg om me nu uit te leven om te voelen hoe het is om me te gedragen als een klein kind en te kijken wat er lichamelijk en geestelijk met me gebeurt als ik een keertje misbruik maak van mijn leeftijd.’ En zo geschiede het.

Toen meneer dokter zijn weg richting mijn bil baande met een naald in zijn hand, klaar voor de aanval, begon ik een brei te krijsen waarin af en toe de woorden ‘nee, nee’ uit op te maken viel, met mijn benen naar de witte jas trappend en mijn armen ongemakkelijk in de lucht zwaaiend. Het was allemaal best een grote uitdaging, aangezien ik op mijn buik lag en ik zo net een trappelende schildpad was met een te groot schild.

Ik belde met mijn moeder, omdat ik voor het totaalbeeld toch wel graag wilde weten op welke leeftijd ik zo dacht. Ik was drie.

Kunst door Sanne van Renesse

Leave a Reply

