Dreaming Awake

a4b

My mind is always busy with parallel realities, being awake and asleep. If there’s something I want to do, but something is holding me back, I think ‘What would it look like in my biography? How would the voice-over of life tell about it?’ And that makes my life more than my life, whereby I take the step after all.

313553_286774331336145_57503452_n

One of the recent data I cycled on my usual, long straight route to a destination that doesn’t matter and rhythmically pedaling I peered into the distance to the level crossing that closed itself beeping and flashing before the many cyclists who wanted to pass. While cycling I waited – together with the group of individuals before the track – until the train would pass, the red and white arms would resurrect and the finally darkening epileptic red lights would form the permission for us to risk the treacherous crossing. While cycling I directed my focus back on the asphalt moving beneath me, approaching the crossing. When I got there and looked up, the train was obviously long gone and keeping busy with something else, all cyclists were once again continuing their journey within their own bubble for so long that they had forgotten the wait for the train and more then ever I felt like being in multiple timelines simultaneously where everything and everyone moves in between and through and like seeing those other dimensions, while my physical time bubble is too slow to catch up to them.

304215_286774264669485_412468877_n

Art by Sanne van Renesse

~ [NL] ~

Ik ben altijd bezig met parallelle realiteiten, wakker en slapend. Als er iets is wat ik wil doen, maar iets houdt me tegen, dan denk ik ‘Hoe zou het eruit zien in mijn biografie? Hoe zal de voice-over van het leven hierover spreken?’ En dat maakt mijn leven meer dan mijn leven, zodat ik de stap alsnog neem.

Ik fietste op één der afgelopen data over mijn vaste, lange rechte route naar een plaats van bestemming die er niet toe doet en tuurde ritmisch trappend in de verte naar de spoorwegovergang die zich piepend en knipperend sloot voor de vele fietsers die wilden passeren. Al fietsend wachtte ik tezamen met de groep individuen voor het spoor tot de trein zou voorbijkomen, de roodwitte armen zouden herreizen en de zich uiteindelijk duisterhoudende epileptische rode lichten de toestemming zouden vormen voor ons om de oversteek te wagen. Al fietsend richtte ik mij weer op het onder me door bewegende asfalt, de spoorwegovergang naderend. Toen ik er aankwam en opkeek, was de trein natuurlijk lang en breed weg en met iets heel anders bezig, waren alle fietsers alweer zolang in hun eigen bubbel bezig met het vervolg van hun reis dat ze de wacht op de trein vergeten waren en meer dan ooit had ik het gevoel in meerdere tijdsdimensies tegelijk te zijn waar alles en iedereen zich tussendoor en dwars doorheen beweegt en die andere dimensies wel te kunnen zien, terwijl mijn lichamelijke tijdsbubbel te langzaam is om ze in te halen.

Kunst door Sanne van Renesse

Leave a Reply

